Safe Site – “Baby Moses” Law
Dear Birth Mother/Parent,
Thank you for considering
bringing your baby to the fire station, No matter
what difficulties you are going through, you still
chose to bring your child to a safe place. Thank
You. Please know that we will do everything we can
to give you beautiful child the best possible
Ennis Fire Department is
honored to be a Designated Emergency Infant care
What is the "Baby Moses
The "Baby Moses Law" is the
common name of a law authorizing a
designated emergency infant care provider
to take possession of a child appearing to
be 60-days-old or younger from the child's
parent, if the parent does not express
intent to return for the child. You can
find this law in the Texas
Code, Chapter 262, Subchapter D.
Emergency Possession of Certain Abandoned
What are the purposes of this law?
One purpose of the law is to encourage
parents who abandon their children to do
so with a designated emergency infant care
provider rather than at a dangerous
location. The law also protects parents
from criminal prosecution when they
deliver an unharmed child to a designated
emergency infant care provider.
How does the law work?
Any parent may voluntarily deliver a
child 60 days old or younger to a
designated emergency infant care provider
when the parent does not express intent to
return for the child.
What is a designated emergency infant
Under House Bill 706, which went into
effect on September 1, 2001, a
child-placing agency (CPA) licensed by
DFPS can be a designated emergency infant
care provider if the CPA :
- Agrees to act as a designated
emergency infant care provider; and
- Has on staff a person who is
licensed as a registered nurse under
Chapter 301, Occupations Code, or who
provides emergency medical services
under Chapter 773, Health and Safety
Code, and who will examine and provide
emergency medical services to a child
taken into possession by the agency.
What if my family have medical
When you place your child in the
custody of the firefighters, we will offer
you a voluntary health form to fill out at
your convenience. You do not have to
provide your name or any information that
you do not wish to share. The packet has a
self address stamped envelope, so you may
mail it at your convenience. The form is
also available here, if you wish to fill
it out prior contact with us. Voluntary
I want to leave my baby at a Safe Baby Site, where
can I go?
may take your baby to any hospital, fire
rescue station, or emergency medical
technician (EMT) in the state of Texas.
remember that it is VERY important to give
your baby to a person working at one of these
facilities. That is the best way to care for
working at these facilities usually have some
form of visible identification.
the person that you want to leave your baby at
the Safe Baby Site.
long can I wait before I take my baby?
- You can take your baby, up to 60 days old.
will they ask me?
- The people at the Safe Baby Site where you
choose to leave your baby may provide you with
a voluntary form to fill out that is used to
provide medical information for your
child. This is NOT an
attempt to try to find out who you are.
This information will be put in your baby’s
records, and may help answer health questions
in the future.
- The Safe Baby Site may offer to give you
some referrals and help lines that you may
want to call in the future if you want to
speak with someone about what you have been
it true that the police will not be called?
- The police will not be called if your
unharmed baby (60 days old or less) is brought
to a hospital, fire rescue station or EMS
station and given to a person who works there.
- If you leave your unharmed baby at a
hospital, fire station or with an EMT, you
will not be prosecuted for abandonment or
happens to my baby?
- If you leave your baby at a fire station or
with and EMT, they will give the baby
immediate medical care and then transport the
baby to the closest appropriate hospital.
- The hospital will take care of any
additional medical needs that your baby may
- The Texas Department of Protective and
Regulatory Services (TDPRS) will then take
custody of your child.
- After the legal responsibilities are
fulfilled by TDPRS, your baby will be placed
with caring family.
must the baby be 60 days old or less?
- The intent of Baby Moses law is to provide a
responsible alternative to desperate mothers.
- The first days of a newborns life are the
most critical, and most likely the time that
immediate medical attention is required.
have other questions, Where do I look for
©Copyright 2007 Ennis
Fire Department All Rights Reserved